Wow its amazing how much there is too learn. I remember way  back before I had left home thinking I was ready to go and serve my mission, be the best Elder ever, come home, go to school and ride off on that adventure called life.
I’m going to focus a bit more on that first part, the part where I was leaving off to go on my mission. Early on in my mission as I was serving in my first area I wondered, why am I not making a difference? Why are people not listening to us? Why, why, why? I felt like I was sinking like Peter when he was going to Christ.
Jesus and Peter
During this time of hardship and frustration my trainer and ultimately one of my best friends shared this story with me and it changed me and it still changes me, even though I’ve known this for months.
    A young man was walking down the beach at sunrise with his grandfather. It was low tide, and there were many creatures to be seen. They laughed, talked, and explored the tides, until they reached a spot where thousands upon thousands of starfish covered the sandy beach.
     “Grandpa? What is going to happen to all these starfish?”
Starfish
     “They are going to dry out and die on the beach, then high tide will come and wash them all up and it will happen again tomorrow.”
     “That’s awful! Isn’t there something we can do?”
     The young man then picked up the nearest starfish, and hurled it as far as he could into the ocean.
     “What are you doing? There’s no point. You can’t save all of them, it’s just the way it has to be.”
     The young man continued. He threw another starfish in the ocean, then another, then another.
He wasn’t going to give up that easily.
     “You can’t save them all, it doesn’t matter!”
     The young man threw one more starfish into the ocean, turned to his grandfather and said,
     “It mattered to that one.”
     He turned around and threw another starfish. Without a word, the grandfather bent down, picked up a starfish, and hurled it into the ocean.
   Sometimes being a missionary you feel like the grandfather, you see so much filth, so much sin and so much bad you just want to give up. You want to quit and go back to a blissful ignorance. However as disciples of Jesus Christ we have a responsibility to help those we see in need.
In honesty this has gotten me through the hardest times on my mission. There have been many times when I’ve felt like I’m not doing anything, nothings changing and since it never has it never will change.
But that one. One thing I can promise is that you will make a difference to that one, you will find that one.
For me, I’ve found that “one”, you can find that one who needs a hand, a shoulder to cry on, the one in need of comfort. When you serve them and help them you’ll know, you’ll know the difference.
The great thing about this work is that its not our work, we aren’t in charge, we have the Godhead at our side. As it says in D&C 68:6, we will be standing right alongside our Lord Jesus Christ.
We will make a difference, not because it is our work or we are that strong, but rather because when we side with Christ we know that good will prevail.
When you feel like your not making a difference or not doing enough just remember,
It matters to that one. 
Starfish 2
